National Health Research Development Committee

The National Health Research Development Committee (NHRDC) is a Technical Committee established as a sub-committee of the Council to provide oversight on all health research conducted in Zimbabwe. All health research conducted in Zimbabwe by any individual or institution is required to receive approval of the NHRDC before initiation.   The Council/Board may further review, approve or disapprove health research that has been approved or not approved by the NHRDC as appropriate. Members are expected to have interest, knowledge and experience related to the conduct of health research.


The Members:


  1. Dr E. Shana                Chair
    2. Dr L. Stranix              Vice Chair  – Clinician Pediatrician
    3. Mr T. Kureya              Social Sciences
    4. Dr A. Kangwende       Clinician
    5. Rev Dr B. Mugwidi     Religious Leader
    6. Dr N. Mgodi                Clinician
    7. Dr S. Mutambu            Biomedical Scientist
    8. Mr Javangwe               Social Scientist
    9. Mr D. Mburuzabudu    Community Rep
    10. Prof. L. Gwanzura     Lab expert
    11. Mrs P. Nyambayo      MCAZ
    12. Mr T. Kujinga            Lawyer
    13. Dr E. Sibanda            Epidemiology and Pharmacy
    14. Dr P. Kuona               Clinician